North of Havana by Randy Wayne White

Randy Wayne White has gained critical acclaim for his Florida-based crime novels featuring former government agent/triggerman Doc Ford.

North of Havana by Randy Wayne White is available. Click for more info or to buy it now.

North of Havana by Randy Wayne White


Features

  • Mass Market Paperback: 253 pages ; Dimensions (in inches): 0.80 x 7.00 x 4.16
  • Publisher: Prime Crime; (May 1998)
  • ISBN: 042516294X


    Amazon.com
    Randy Wayne White--try saying that three times, fast--had everybody shouting about a new Travis McGee with 1996's
    Captiva. But White's marine biologist Doc Ford is a much more complicated character than the late, great John D. MacDonald's muscular bounty hunter. For one thing, Ford has a shadowy political past--which explains why he's reluctant to race down to Havana to bail out his chemically-abusive friend Tomlinson when his boat is impounded under suspicious circumstances. "By most definitions it was a nightmare, but to me it was simply a sleeping revisitation of a thing I had done, a thing that I loathed," says Doc--planting the seeds of a revelation about his past and showing off the kind of writing that makes his new book so compulsively readable. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

    Book Description
    Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford novels have been praised as "witty" (San Diego Union-Tribune), "must-reads" (Chicago Tribune) and "superb." (Denver Post) Now, White's newest thriller takes Doc Ford to Havana, where his friend is being held by the Cuban government. Still haunted by his suspected involvement in a plot against Castro, Ford ventures to Cuba--where he finds himself entangled in a web of murder, revenge, and assassination.

    * >From the author of the critically acclaimed novel Captiva (Prime Crime, 5/97)
    * Another mystery featuring Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford is on the way
    * Will appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen and John D. Macdonald
    * "We'll drop anything we're doing to read a new Randy White novel and be glad we did."

    --Denver Post


    Reader Reviews
    A great read, but not his best, July 16, 2001 Reviewer: David A. Smith from Winchester, VA I'm a big RWW fan and enjoyed this book as well, but as stated by an earlier reviewer, I thought "North of Havana" lost a little steam midway through. It may have been the fact that Tomlinson, whose eccentricities are normally a source of mild consternation for Doc Ford, are the cause of some major problems, both to Ford and to his female companion. That those character flaws lead indirectly to several deaths makes Tomlinson less quirky and more downright irritating. Otherwise, an action-focused entry in a great series of novels.

    More Info from AmazonBuy It from Amazon
    More Info from Amazon UKBuy Now from Amazon UK
    More Info from Amazon CanadaBuy Now from Amazon Canada

  •  


     

     



    Search Now:
    In Association with Amazon.com

    Search Now:
    In Association with Amazon.co.uk

    Search Now:
    In Association with amazon.ca
     

    Mystery Guild