Speaking of Greed: Stories of Envious Desire by Lawrence Block

From hard-boiled private eye to burglar-turned-sleuth, Lawrence Block can enchant all varieties of mystery lovers.

Speaking of Greed: Stories of Envious Desire by Lawrence Block is available. Click for more info or to buy it now.

Speaking of Greed: Stories of Envious Desire by Lawrence Block


  • Hardcover: 368 pages ; Dimensions (in inches): 1.21 x 9.33 x 6.35
  • Publisher: Cumberland House; (September 2001)
  • ISBN: 1581822219

    Book Description
    The second volume in the Seven Deadly Sins series, Speaking of Greed is a collection of short stories on the destructive deadly sin known as greed. In addition to being the title of this anthology, "Speaking of Greed" is also the title of Lawrence Block's original novella that leads off this unique collection.

    "My task as an anthologist in this series," Block write in the introduction, "is threefold: first, I have to pick the stories; then I have to write a longish novella with my four series characters, whom we know only as the priest, the doctor, the soldier, and the policeman; finally, I have to hammer out an introduction."

    The stories Block has chosen are delightful. His novella delivers what he promises. And the introduction is a heads-up plea for authors to ensure that their work will continue to be read after they are no longer around to write any more.

    Included in this stellar anthology are the following stories and authors:

    "Speaking of Greed" by Lawrence Block • "The Word' by F. Paul Wilson • "Hitler, Elvis, and Me" by Doug Allyn • "One Hit Wonder" by Gabrielle Kraft • "The $5,000 Getaway" by Jack Ritchie • "Rotten to the Core" by Jeremiah Healy • "Front Man" by David Morrell • "Water's Edge" by Robert Bloch • "A Taste of Paradise" by Bill Pronzini • "Bits" by Mat Coward • "Come Down From The Hills" by John F. Suter • "The Wrong Hands" by Peter Robinson • "The High Cost of Living" by Dorothy Cannell • "My Heart Cries For You" by Bill Crider • "Inside Job" by Ed Gorman • "Deadly Fantasies" by Marcia Muller • "Death Scene" by Helen Nielsen • "Good-bye, Sue Ellen" by Gillian Roberts • "Death and Diamonds" by Sue Dunlap • "A Ticket Out" by Brenda DuBois

    About the Author
    LAWRENCE BLOCK, a Mystery Writers of America Grand Master, is a four-time winner of the Edgar Allen Poe and Shamus Awards and a recipient of literary prizes in France, Germany, and Japan. The author of more than fifty books, including fourteen Matthew Scudder novels and Even the Wicked, he lives in New York City.

    Reader Reviews
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful: Avid Reader, March 5, 2002 Reviewer: A reader from FPO, AE United States Every story in this book was good. I highly recommend it and I can hardly wait for the third entry to the deadly sins series. Speaking of Greed wasn't as gory as Speaking of Lust. Another must read by Lawrence Block: Hitman.

    More Info from AmazonBuy It from Amazon
    More Info from Amazon UKBuy Now from Amazon UK
    More Info from Amazon CanadaBuy Now from Amazon Canada




    Search Now:
    In Association with Amazon.com

    Search Now:
    In Association with Amazon.co.uk

    Search Now:
    In Association with amazon.ca

    Mystery Guild