Police & Professionals

More than a calling, these investigations are their livelihoods.

Buy all Police & Professionals mystery authors' books here. Click the mystery author name for a complete list of books, then get more info or to buy it now.

Barr, Nevada (19)

Nevada Barr's award-winning series brings us to the wilds of America's National Parks with female Park Ranger Anna Pigeon.

Beaton, M.C. (31)

Bestselling author M.C. Beaton engages readers with her two mystery series; one featuring Scottish police constable Hamish Macbeth, and the other featuring London advertising retiree Agatha Raisin.

Booth, Stephen (5)

Stephen Booth's award-winning crime thrillers, set in England's beautiful and atmospheric Peak District, feature young police detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry.

Bowen, Rhys (11)

Rhys Bowen is the award-winning author of the constable Evan Evans mysteries and a historical series hightlighting the investigations of Irish imigrant Molly Murphy.

Buchanan, Edna (10)

Pulitzer Prize winning crime reporter Edna Buchanan retired from the world of journalism to write bestselling crime novels about reporter Britt Montero.

Burke, James Lee (15)

Award-winning author James Lee Burke writes the Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux mysteries, as well as a series featuring former cop and Texas Ranger Billy Bob Holland.

Burke, Jan (12)

Formally a journalist herself, Jan Burke brings suspense-filled realism to her award-winning mystery series featuring newspaper reporter Irene Kelly.

Charteris, Leslie (7)

Leslie Charteris is the creator of Simon Templar, better known as The Saint, whose stories have thrilled generations, first as magazine stories, then brought to life via radio, television and movies.

Connelly, Michael (37)

Michael Connelly is a Pulitzer Prize nominated crime reporter turned Edgar Award winning and bestselling crime fiction author.

Cornwell, Patricia (27)

Patricia Cornwell's Dr. Kay Scarpetta series captivates its audience by providing frighteningly realistic forensic science investigation.

Deaver, Jeffery (25)

Bestselling and award-winning author Jeffrey Deaver is best known for his series featuring forensic investigator Lincoln Rhyme.

Evanovich, Janet (25)

Janet Evanovich's series featuring unlikely bounty hunter Stephanie Plum has earned her awards, a permanent spot on the bestseller lists and crazed fans from around the world.

Grimes, Martha (17)

Martha Grimes has received critical acclaim as an American writing authentic British mysteries.

Hamilton, Steve (6)

Steve Hamilton is the award-winning author of the Alex McNight novels.

Hillerman, Tony (45)

Bestselling and award-winning author Tony Hillerman brings to life the Southwest and the Navajo culture in his mystery series featuring Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn.

James, P.D. (22)

P.D. James is best known for her Chief-Inspector (later Commander) Adam Dalgliesh series.

Jance, J.A. (29)

J.A. Jance is the bestselling author of 2 police procedural series: Seattle-based homicide detective J.P. Beaumont and Arizona Sheriff Joanna Brady.

Kaminsky, Stuart M. (23)

Stuart Kaminsky writes several popular series including those featuring Lew Fonesca, Abraham Lieberman, Inspector Porfiry Petrovich Rostnikov, and Toby Peters. He has also written two original Rockford Files novels

Kellerman, Faye (18)

Faye Kellerman added a spin on her police procedural series by having her detective marry an orthodox jew.

King, Laurie R. (18)

Laurie King is the award-winning author of a variety of mystery styles, from historical to police procedural to suspense.

le Carré, John (9)

Author John le Carre puts his experience with the British Foreign Service to good use in his British spy novels.

Maron, Margaret (17)

Margaret Maron is the creator of detective Sigrid Harald, the protagonist of a series of crime novels set in New York, and Judge Deborah Knott mysteries set in rural North Carolina.

Marsh, Ngaio (19)

Ngaio Marsh's Chief Inspector (later Superintendent) Roderick Alleyn, of Scotland Yard, series was typically set in the world of the arts, particularly the theater or painters.

McBain, Ed (28)

Ed McBain/Evan Hunter has become best known for his bestselling 87th precinct series.

McDermid, Val (20)

Val McDermid's award-winning crime fiction has made her a true staple amongst mystery readers.

McGarrity, Michael (9)

Michael McGarrity's former careers as a deputy sheriff and trained psychotherapist give him insight while he writes his Kevin Kerney series.

Patterson, James (21)

James Patterson's award-winning and bestselling Alex Cross series is a combination of police procedural and psychological suspense that readers can't resist.

Pearson, Ridley (17)

Bestselling author Ridley Pearson is best known for his well-research, suspenseful storytelling.

Rankin, Ian (20)

Ian Rankin is the award-winning author of the Inspector Rebus series.

Reichs, Kathy (6)

Forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs brings you into her world with her series featuring forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan.

Rendell, Ruth (55)

Ruth Rendell is the award-winning author of the Chief Inspector Wexford mysteries.

Robinson, Peter (16)

Peter Robinson is the award-winning author of the Inspector Banks series.

Sandford, John (22)

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist John Camp uses the pseudonym John Sandford for his bestselling suspense-filled Prey series.

Smith, Martin Cruz (4)

Bestselling crime fiction author Martin Cruz Smith is best known for his Moscow detective novel, Gorky Park.

Stabenow, Dana (21)

Award-winning author Dana Stabenow is best known for her Kate Shugak mysteries set in her home state of Alaska.

White, Stephen (10)

Stephen White draws upon over fifteen years of clinical practice as a psychologist to create his bestselling Alan Gregory series.



Search Now:
In Association with Amazon.com

Search Now:
In Association with Amazon.co.uk

Search Now:
In Association with amazon.ca

Mystery Guild